Posted by: puckdrawn | March 2, 2009

Quick Hits

Here are some quick hits for a snowy east coast Monday afternoon.

First off, if you’re  here it’s because you have an interest in hockey design. However, if you like OTHER sports designs, I advise you to check out UniWatchBlog.com. There are some really great posts over there on a daily basis and HARDLY what I’d call a quick hit. Very in-depth stuff with lots of links to interesting sports design items.

pinkI found this link over on UniWatch. I really appreciate all of the efforts by sports teams that are raising awareness of and raising money for breast cancer. With a mother who is battling breast cancer, I appreciate it even more. As a designer, I’m not sure I appreciate all of the pink. Hockey means tough and pink does not, so whenever I see specialty jerseys that are part of  cancer awareness I cringe. There are many creatives out there and surely there is a better way to go about this. As the great coach Reggie Dunlop would say, “Put some tits in there!”

I know this is a design website, but I LOVE deadline week, so here’s a link to a HockeyNews.com trade deadline page.

Brigade logo2.cdrGot a new concept design this morning. The concepts are coming in and I have to say that I’m pleased with the quality of each one so far. There are a LOT of subpar concepts designs floating around, but I really want to keep the bad ones off of THIS site. However, post what ya want over on the forums. I’d just prefer to keep the above average designs for PuckDrawn.

Leave a Reply

Categories

